3 Stages of Scorpio: The Scorpion, The Eagle and The Phoenix

Scorpio is ruled by the planet Pluto and is the 8th sign in the zodiac. Scorpio is represented by multiple symbols, the most potent symbols that stand out are The Scorpion, The Eagle, and The Phoenix. These three symbols or totems represent the stages of transformation Scorpio undergoes during the spiritual journey. Through peace of mind, we reach spiritual enlightenment. However, to induce the calm it takes to reach higher levels of awareness, Scorpio must have command of their emotions.

The First Stage: The Scorpion

The Scorpion, the first stage of transformation, represents our baser emotions, the darker emotions that we embrace. Low vibrational impulses seduce Scorpio as they continually react without understanding, empathy, or thought. The Scorpion easily expresses jealousy and anger, the primary source of Scorpio's reactive behavior. If these traits are easily recognizable in a Scorpio, then be aware that their perception is limited by the control their emotions have on them, and they weighed down my insecurities. Another source of frustration stem from hidden motives that they are either struggling to achieve or struggling to get started with. The Scorpion represents Scorpio at it's rawest form; this is Scorpio at their most destructive and intimidating. The Scorpion isn't going around, starting trouble. Still, because it's highly protective of itself, ego and pride will retaliate with such a vengeance, it will seem as if Scorpio was the aggressor. Scorpio, at this stage, learns from personal experience and pain of loss & betrayal. Scorpio will take other's advice with a grain of salt while forging their own path with deliberation, determination, and a dab of stubbornness. This is also the stage where Scorpio is more prone to indulging in substances or activities that ease the mind, also making them susceptible to unhealthy habits in an attempt to reduce the anxiety and emotional impulses in the brain. The Scorpion eventually realizes that the best way to bring peace to mind, body, and spirit is through spiritual enlightenment, personal awareness, and growth. This newfound awareness eventually leads to the next transformational stage...The Eagle.

The Second Stage: The Eagle

The Eagle is the second stage of transformation and is considered a symbol of courage and power. The Eagle flies freely, aware of its surroundings and influence. The Scorpion has reached a state of maturity and is at a state where they rely heavily on intuition and wisdom to solve personal problems and assist the ails of others. Where The Scorpion dealt mostly with the physical aspect of life, The Eagle is concerned with perception, philosophy, and wisdom. Their keen sense of observation infused with their powerful intuition allows them to discern an individual rather quickly and positively or negatively influence them with their persona. However, The Eagle still struggles with balancing the power of insight. Does The Eagle choose to influence the self or the whole?

The Third Stage: The Phoenix

The Phoenix represents the final stage of transformation for Scorpio. As we progress through Scorpios' various stages of power, we see Scorpios struggle with balance. Will the composed Scorpio manipulate things to be as he wishes? The extreme-natured Scorpio is tempered, Reborn from the ashes, renewed, and rejuvenated as The Phoenix representing the capacity for empathetic observation without judgment, thus an expansion of compassion and disillusionment of self. The Phoenix strongly associated with rebirth, resurrection, and transformation is a symbol that represents Scorpio breaking the chains of attachment, having learned the lesson of letting go.

Follow us on Instagram @TheScorpioGang



TO ORPHUS_23: Of course you can. There will always be parts of you in all three stages. Life is not linear…it ebbs and flows. You will visit where you’ve been before . For me now, it’s, usually, not too long a stay. The important thing is to keep your focus on moving forward. Those pieces will catch up and come together further on in your journey.


This pretty much explains where I’ve been. I’m 74 and it took AA to keep me alive long enough to get me to the Phoenix I’ve been a Phoenix for a few years now. I still work on balance, but life is much smoother. My stubbornness only occasionally rears it’s head. I am still working on the letting go to a Higher Power…though my resistance doesn’t last NEARLY as long as it used to. I was told not to think of letting go as giving up or loosing, but to see it as joining the winning side. Thank you for the article. I’m so glad I found it. It’s nice to know there are others like me. For all of you in the Scorpion stage…hang in there. It gets better. I am going to guess that, like me, most of us Phoenixes have found that this part is just a door to a new journey .


I’m still in the first level, and I’m still going crazy with a break up I had 6 months ago :’c

Edith Iglesias

I am 51 years old and have gone through all three stages more than I would like. I Love that I can Balance all the traits and stages very well.


I have traits of the phoenix and the scorpion is it possible to feel connected to two stages?

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published